West Midlands Combined Authority Overview and Scrutiny Committee Membership (based upon political proportionality of relevant authorities as at 1 April 2017)

Option 1 – Based upon the membership structure of the Police and Crime Panel

1. The Committee consists of a total of 19 members, 12 from Constituent Councils and 7 from LEP's and Non- Constituent Councils.

Constituent Councils

- 2. The Committee consists of 12 elected members from Constituent Councils, appointed on an annual basis by the Authorities as follows:
 - (a) One Member appointed by each of the following Councils:

Birmingham City Council Coventry City Council Dudley Metropolitan Borough Council Sandwell Metropolitan Borough Council Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council Walsall Metropolitan Borough Council Wolverhampton City Council

- (b) Two further Members to be nominated by Birmingham City Council and appointed by the West Midlands Combined Authority.
- (c) Two further Members to be jointly nominated by Dudley MBC, Sandwell MBC, Walsall MBC and Wolverhampton City Council (via the Association of Black Country Authorities) and appointed by the West Midlands Combined Authority.
- (d) One further Member to be jointly nominated by Coventry City Council and Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council and appointed by the West Midlands Combined Authority.
- 3. Appointments must be made with a view to ensuring the balanced appointment objective as required under Part 2, Section 3 of the Combined Authorities (Overview and Scrutiny Committees, Access to Information and Audit Committees) Order 2016, in that it represents all parts of the Combined Authority area and the political make-up of the local authorities (when taken together).
- Taking into account the West Midlands 2016 local election results the following political balance will apply to the Committee: Labour 8 Conservative 4

 Each constituent council is responsible for making its own individual appointment each with a named substitute. Appointments to the remaining 5 elected member places (and named substitutes) will be considered by the Combined Authority in line with the table shown below.

Party	LA Individual Appointments (7)	Places for confirmation at a meeting of the West Midlands Joint Committee (5)	Total
Labour (8)	<u>6 Places</u> Birmingham (1) Coventry (1) Dudley (1) Sandwell (1) Walsall (1) Wolverhampton (1)	2 Places Birmingham (1) Coventry CC /Solihull MBC (1) to be nominated on an annual rotation basis.	8
Conservative (4)	<u>1 Place</u> Solihull MBC (1)	3 PlacesBirmingham (1)Black Country Councils(2)to be nominated via theWest MidlandsCombined Authority.	4
Total	7	5	12

Scenario 1:

Scenario 2:

Party	LA Individual Appointments (7)	Places for confirmation at a meeting of the West Midlands Joint Committee (5)	Total
Labour (8)	<u>6 Places</u> Birmingham (1) Coventry (1) Dudley (1) Sandwell (1) Walsall (1) Wolverhampton (1)	2 Places Birmingham (1) Black Country Councils (1) to be nominated via the West Midlands Combined Authority to be nominated on an annual rotation basis.	8
Conservative (4)	1 Place Solihull MBC (1)	<u>3 Places</u> Birmingham (1)	4

		Coventry CC /Solihull MBC (1)	
		Black Country Councils (1) to be nominated via the West Midlands Combined Authority.	
Total	7	5	12

Non-Constituent Authorities

6. The Committee consists of four elected members from non-constituent councils, to ensure a geographical spread of representation the following applies:

Shropshire Non-Constituent Local Authorities [Shropshire, Telford]	1 Seat
Staffordshire Non-Constituent Local Authorities [Cannock,	1 Seat
Tamworth]	
Warwickshire Non-Constituent Local Authorities [Nuneaton &	1 Seat
Bedworth, North Warwickshire, Rugby, Stratford-on-Avon,	
Warwickshire CC]	
Worcestershire Non-Constituent Local Authorities [Redditch]	1 Seat

- 7. In addition, the appointment of non-constituent representation must as far as reasonably practicable, not change the overall political balance of the committee as outlined in point 4 above.
- 8. The Committee consists of three representatives from Local Enterprise Partnerships, one seat for each of the LEP's within the Combined Authority area:
 - i. the Black Country,
 - ii. Coventry and Warwickshire,
 - iii. Greater Birmingham and Solihull

Option 2

- 1. The Committee consists of a total of 13 members, made up of the following:
 - i. 7 seats for constituent Council's (1 per authority);
 - ii. 5 seats for non-constituent council's;
 - iii. 1 seat for LEP representation.